Sunday, May 19, 2024

Australian Fashion Laureate Finalists Announced

Fashion’s Highest Recognitions

Finalists for the Australian Fashion Laureate 2019 awards have been announced by IMG.

As the industry’s highest accolade, the Australian Fashion Laureate awards celebrate individuals in the Australian Fashion Industry who contribute to its growth, development and global recognition.

Award categories include Womenswear, Menswear, Model of the Year, Retailer, Accessories, Outstanding Creative and Emerging Talent. This year, a new category has been introduced into the mix. The inaugural Sustainable Innovation category recognises brands that are implementing long-term sustainable strategies and striving for better practices.

Executive Director of IMG’s fashion group, Natalie Xenita, thinks it’s the perfect time to introduce such a category.

“With the introduction of the Sustainable Innovation award, we are celebrating the Australian industry’s growing dedication to lessening fashion’s impact on our environment,” said Xenita. “This award category complements our existing accolades, which not only celebrate Australia’s exceptional talent, but highlight the most noteworthy innovations shaping our industry and its future.”

The Australian Fashion Laureate award was established in 2008 by the NSW Government as a way to recognise the achievements of the industry’s exceptional talents. Previous recipients of the award include Edwina McCann, Dion Lee, Zimmerman and Carla Zampatti.

Finalists are nominated and chosen by a panel of over 30 key industry names including creatives, designers, buyers, media and communications professionals. Winners across all categories will be announced on October 23 in Sydney.

See the full list of Australian Fashion Laureate finalists for 2019:


Bernie Leser
Laura Brown
Maggie Tabberer
Malcolm Carfrae


Bianca Spender
Christopher Esber
Lee Mathews


Blair Archibald
Chris Ran Lin
Double Rainbouu
Ex Infinitas


Anna Quan
Jacinta James
Yousef Akbar


Lee Mathews
Lucy Folk


By Nye
Holly Ryan
Sarah & Sebastian
Ryan Storer

Model of the Year

Charlee Fraser
Duckie Thoth
Julia Nobis
Robyn Lawley

Outstanding Creative

Christine Centenera
Jillian Davison
Naomi Smith
Jana Pokorny

Sustainable Innovation

Outland Denim

Curious about some of the finalists? Take a look at our interview with menswear designer Chris Ran Lin here.

Similar Articles

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to Cocktail Revolution
Be the first to know